Fall TV is almost upon us

Last year I made this post ridiculously early, so I suppose its only fitting it comes ridiculously late this year. After perusing TV Guide’s fall schedule and premiere calendar, I’ve worked up my own weekly list of of things to watch. My eye is mostly on returning shows and those of a superheroic bent, but a few new comedies caught my attention, too.

SUNDAY
Once Upon A Time:
Once Upon a Time, like Castle, is one of those shows that I like a lot while I’m watching it, but once anything gets in the way, I quickly forget why and don’t come back to it forever. That’s why, with three weeks until the premiere, I’m speeding through 80 percent of last season to catch up, and enjoying it quite a lot. All I know is Emma’s going dark. Premieres at 7 p.m., Sept. 27 on ABC

MONDAY
Gotham:
This pre-Batman series really snuck up on me, but now I love pretty much everything about it. It’s an excellent mix of Gotham’s criminal underbelly, the ups and downs of Jim Gordon’s life and career, Young Bruce Wayne and Alfred, and the building up of classic Batman villains. Premieres at 7 p.m., Sept. 21 on FOX.

Castle: A mystery writer works with his NYPD wife and friends to solve murders. Heading into season 8, and I’m really only sticking with it on the strength of its cast. It was the last show I finished from the 2014-15 season, and it took me well into the summer…and I’ve already forgotten how season 7 ended. I’m looking forward to the quirky case-of-the-week episodes far more than whatever season arcs get going.  Premieres at 9 p.m., Sept. 21 on ABC

TUESDAY
The Flash:
This ended up being my favorite new show of last season. It’s a superhero show with all the drama and angst that goes along with that, but it’s also incredibly light and fun. I admit to having some reservations about season two. Mostly, because it’s clear that time travel and multiple timelines are going to play a big role this season, and I’m afraid that at best all sense of tension will evaporate (because time travel and reset buttons) and at worst, it’ll be too confusing to keep up. But I don’t think it could survive as “Barry runs really fast and fights crime,” so it pretty much HAS to go this way. Crossing my fingers. Premieres at 7 p.m., Oct. 6, on The CW

Grandfathered: John Stamos plays a fancy-restaurant-owning cad who finds out he has a son. And a baby granddaughter. Also, this sitcom is apparently what Paget Brewster decided to do after Criminal Minds, and it looks funny, and adorable and I’m in. Premieres at 7 p.m., Sept. 29 on FOX.

The Grinder: Rob Lowe plays an actor whose 8-year stint as the star of a law show just ended. So he goes home to try to be a real lawyer with his dad (William Devane) and brother (Fred Savage – Fred Savage is back on my TV!). It looks pretty funny, but it stars Rob Lowe and is on Fox. So if Fox doesn’t kill it, it’s a pretty safe bet Lowe will be bored four seasons in and that’ll be that. Still. Let’s see where it goes. Premieres at 7:30 p.m., Sept. 29, on FOX.

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: I am so glad this show got so much better since I originally gave it up a few episodes in.  And this season looks like it’s going to shoot off in a new direction with a secret team of superheroes, which could be exciting. I just hope we don’t lose that nifty father-daughter-ish relationship Skye and Coulson have going on. Premieres at 8 p.m., Sept. 29 on ABC.

Scream Queens: I’m more interested in this for Jamie Lee Curtis’ history in horror and Niecy Nash’s turn as  security guard than I am for anything else having to do with this campy looking series about a sorority murder house, but by the end of the trailer I was interested enough to give it a try. But it’s going to have to be super good to stick with it. Premieres at 7 p.m., Sept. 22 on FOX, then moves to 8.

Best Time Ever with Neil Patrick Harris: Honestly, NPH can be a little much for me sometimes, and the nature of variety shows make them something I’m bound to eventually forget about anyway, but I suspect this could be entertaining for a little while at least. And now I want to go check Hulu for Celebrity Game Night. Premieres at 9 p.m., Sept. 15. on NBC.

WEDNESDAY
The Middle/Modern Family:
Though quite different, both of these family sitcoms have a lot of heart and humor, even if they are getting a little long in the tooth as they both head into their seventh seasons and more members of the child cast have aged out of high school. Premieres at 7/8 p.m., Sept. 23 on ABC.

Arrow: The last time we checked in, Oliver Queen had left Starling City and his sister Thea had picked up the Red Arrow mantle. It feels like a big shift for the show, though I’m certain Ollie will be back. I’m just hoping that Oliver/Felicity stays a thing and the door is forever closed on more Oliver/Laurel angsty drama. Premieres at 7 p.m., Oct. 7 on The CW.

Supernatural: Like I said in this post, I really think season 11 will be the last, and I hope that means Sam and Dean can avoid the oft-repeated back-and-forth of one lying to the other to “protect them” and only making everything worse while they fight “The Darkness.”  Premieres at 8 p.m., Oct. 7 on THE CW

THURSDAY
Heroes Reborn: This sequel series seems to be a good mix of the original castmembers with a whole host of new Heroes, and I can’t wait to see how it works out. I just hope I get through Heroes (and am still enthused) before it starts. Premieres at 7 p.m. Sept. 24, on NBC.

FRIDAY
Grimm: Last season took some twists and turns regarding Juliette and Adalind and their relationships to Nick. Plus Wu is officially in the fold, and has had fun contributions. Premieres at 8 p.m. Oct 30 on NBC.

So, overall: 15 shows, five new ones, two of which are questionable. But mostly, I’m just hoping Fox doesn’t decide to play my heart. What are you watching?

Leisure Time is on Twitter! Follow @TheLTtweet for post updates and smaller thoughts.

4 thoughts on “Fall TV is almost upon us

Leave a Reply

