The Netflix Conundrum

There’s too much stuff to watch. The list of what’s coming and going from Netflix in August has been released, and fortunately there’s not a whole lot leaving that I want to watch. However, seasons 1-7 of Family Ties is officially leaving, which reminded me that once upon a time (probably around 2012), I was slowly making my way through that kinda preachy but fun 1980s Michael J. Fox sitcom.

And then I fell down a rabbit hole of remembering all the shows I was watching but have gotten behind on. And it’s not like I don’t want to watch them! I just kind of stopped. But the list is huge, and — much like when I plan to clean the kitchen — when I look at it, I just want to curl up into a ball and ignore everything. So I thought I’d make a list of where I left off on everything I was/am watching, and my dear friends and readers could help me prioritize.

THINGS I’M CURRENTLY WATCHING
Star Trek: The Next Generation (mid season 3)
Criminal Minds (mid season 4)
Teen Wolf (Amazon Prime, mid season 1)

THINGS I’VE BEEN WATCHING WITHIN THE LAST YEAR
The Americans (Amazon Prime, finished season 1, not wanting to get too far ahead of S3’s release)
Once Upon A Time (Early season 1, season 4 hits Aug. 28, season 5 premieres Sept. 27)
How I Met Your Mother (Early season 1)
Baby Daddy (Early season 3)

THINGS I HAVEN’T WATCHED IN ALONG TIME BUT WOULD STILL KIND OF LIKE TO BE WATCHING
The X-Files (early season 1)
SeaQuest (mid season 1)
Family Ties (mid season 1)
Bones (mid season 4)

I also still have season five of Smallville on disc, because I am, perhaps, single-handedly keeping Netflix’s disc service alive by paying for it but rarely using it.

WHAT SHOULD I WATCH?!

Logic says I should continue with Star Trek, Criminal Minds and Teen Wolf, because I like watching them right now. And that I should probably add OUaT to the mix, because I do want to be caught up for season 5. But I’m just not that interested in season one, and my completion-ist nature won’t let me just skip it. Logic also says Family Ties, since it’s going away…but I’m not sure I’d be all that broken up about missing it.I’ll probably burn through Teen Wolf pretty quickly, so I’m I think I’m looking for the next two hours of shows, either in the form of two one-hour things or one with two sitcoms.Y’all convince me on what I should be watching, please, because given the size of this list, I clearly can’t be trusted to finish things on my own.

Leave a Reply

