Fall TV: Here we go again…

UPDATED: Adds premiere dates, Scorpion.

Last year I did this post much closer to the start of the fall TV season, but I’m trying to do a weekly post, and the other two posts I’ve got could use some time to simmer.  So here’s all the stuff that caught my interest from the network upfronts last week. Again, like last year, I’m sure it won’t all stick, but there are fewer shows I feel that way about.  All times are central time.

SUNDAY
7 p.m.: Once Upon A Time (ABC), premieres Sept. 28
To be honest, this is a show that gave me enough doubts to stop watching in season one, wiped them mostly away in seasons two and three, but is bringing them back as we head into season four. Because yeah, I like the idea of the Charming baby, and really, the whole family dynamic between the Charmings, their baby, Emma, Henry and what I hope will be Gold, given that Henry is his grandson (because, you can have two, David). But I’m not interested in Frozen, which is apparently going to be the next Disney product introduced, and I really don’t care for the the other ships of the show. I don’t like Belle, being in love sands away all of Pirate Pretty’s edge, and I really have no patience for a Marion/Robin/Regina angsty love triangle. Because it’s a conflict that only exists because Emma went temporarily stupid in Fairytale Land. But I’m hoping that Henry is reaching an age where he can be more useful, beyond being the kid who believes in magic. It’s time for him to start getting battle ready.

MONDAY
7 p.m.: Gotham (FOX), premieres Sept. 22
I had my reservations about this pre-Batman series,  but then I saw the trailer.  For someone who’s already watched/watching Arrow, Smallville and The Flash, and who grew up with Batman: The Animated Series, this is a must-see. I’m not thrilled about putting heart in Fox’s hands again, though.

8 p.m.: Sleepy Hollow (FOX), premieres Sept. 22
I need to get caught up on this one. My DVR kept missing out and I never really got around to finding it online, but from what I saw of season one, I really like all the characters and the banter between Ichabod and Abbie. I assume it stayed pretty good.

8 p.m.: Scorpion (CBS), premieres Sept. 22
I’m not sure how I missed this show. Maybe the title didn’t grab me enough to bother looking into it (as was the early case with Trophy Wife in 2013). Or maybe it just fell into the same “quirky person works with law enforcement” trope that kept me disinterested in Forever. But I just caught the trailer on YouTube, and it looks worth a shot, for a few episodes, at least.

9 p.m.: Castle (ABC), premieres Sept. 29
I’m still sticking with this entirely out of habit and an enjoyment of its people, because there’s not much else going on. I’m actually to a point where I prefer it’s standalone episodes to it’s arc-based episodes. And while I’m not one of those people who watch solely for the Castle/Beckett relationship (or Caskett as it’s called), even I’m tired of the constant roadblocks to it.

TUESDAY
7 p.m.: The Flash (CW), premieres Oct. 7
See my notes on Gotham, only subtract all reservations. I can’t wait. Trailer:


8 p.m.: Supernatural (CW), premieres Oct. 7
I missed this show’s first four seasons, binge-watched them over a summer, watched the fifth live, and then…stopped. Until this year, when I caught up on seasons 6-8 in a few months. I still have to watch season 9, but I certainly don’t share the same sense of…disappointment(?)…that other fans seem to feel heading into season 10.

8 p.m.: Agents of SHIELD (ABC), premieres Sept. 23
Theoretically. I lost interest pretty early, but was just starting to have it piqued again when I gave up cable and lost my saved episodes. I’m interested in what I’ve heard about it, and curious how the events of Captain America: The Winter Soldier will play into it. Like Supernatural, Arrow and Sleepy Hollow, however, I have to get caught up.

Not interesting enough: Forever (9 p.m. ABC). Between Castle, Sleepy Hollow, and an occasional interest in Bones and the existence of Elementary, I think I’ve had enough Quirky Person Works With Law Enforcement stories.

WEDNESDAY
7 p.m.: Arrow (CW), premieres Oct. 8
I just watched season one and adored it to pieces. I’m not sure how I’m going to get caught up on season two in time to not start more than a few weeks behind on season three, but it’s definitely happening (whereas I’m fine with the possibility of just being perpetually a season behind on everything else).

7 p.m.-8:30 p.m.: The Middle, The Goldbergs, Modern Family, Blackish (ABC), all premiere Sept. 23
I’ve always liked The Middle and Modern Family, and after always catching the last minute or so of 80s-period comedy The Goldbergs on the way to the latter, I’m interested enough to give it a real go. And Blackish, the sitcom starring Laurence Fishburne and Anthony Anderson as a father trying to inject some black culture into his family looks hilarious. Trailer:

9 p.m.: Stalker (CBS), premieres Oct. 1
Hadn’t heard a thing about it until I saw it on the schedule and looked up its trailer. I was indifferent until it got creepy as all get out. Trailer:


THURSDAY
9 p.m. How to Get Away with Murder (ABC), premieres Sept. 25
I honestly don’t see this as anything that I’ll keep watching, but it looks interesting enough to try:

FRIDAY
8 p.m.: Grimm (NBC), premieres Oct. 24
I’m so glad this show has lasted as long as it has. I’m a few episodes behind on the current season,  but I’m catching up.  So far I’m a little disappointed in the actions of all our good guys though. But it should lead into some interesting stuff.

9 p.m.: Constantine (NBC), premieres Oct. 24
I never watched the Keanu Reeves movie from a few years back, and I never read Hellblazer, but after viewing the trailer and knowing how much I like Supernatural, I figure I’d be doing myself a disservice if I didn’t try this:

MISCELLANEOUS
Teen Wolf is back June 23, and I can’t wait.

Galavant doesn’t have a start date, but it looks fun (medieval musical comedy)l , though very bizarre and unlikely to last more than a season:

Leisure Time is on Twitter! Follow @TheLTtweet for post updates and smaller fannish thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Fall TV: Here we go again…

  1. I had no idea that Galavant was even a thing. That looks HILARIOUS! I might be adding a comedy to my viewing roster.

    I’ve seen the pilot episodes for both Forever and Constantine. Forever is LOOSELY based on the Peter Hammill novel. I wasn’t whelmed by the Constantine pilot but then I read that they’re having to go in a new direction because the leading lady left the show, so I might stick with it to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

