What a ‘Crazy’ turnaround

I’ve been binge watching a lot of shows while racing to clean off my DVR now that I’ve finally decided to cancel cable, and I think by far the most enjoyable has, surprisingly, been “The Crazy Ones,” the CBS sitcom starring Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar as father-daughter ad executives. I say surprisingly, because I did not come away from the pilot with very good thoughts.  It wasn’t unfunny, but it looked very much like it was just going to Robin Williams stream-of-consciousness-ing his way from mark to mark as his character Simon  struggled to stay relevant and everyone else just tried to keep up.

But somewhere along the lines, it turned  itself around and is definitely my favorite new show of the season and in my top three for all shows currently airing.

The Crazy Ones: James Wolk, Hamish Linklater, Robin Williams, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Amanda Setton
The Crazy Ones: James Wolk, Hamish Linklater, Robin Williams, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Amanda Setton

Within a couple episodes, Williams stopped seeming like a manic dinosaur in a young person’s world but instead like the zany, revered leader of a successful agency. And the truly amazing thing for me is that Sarah Michelle Gellar holds her own against him. I knew she could be funny, because every now and again “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” would let her bring it, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t have any reservations about whether she could hold up on a sitcom. But she does great, both as a character that is legitimately funny and as one who can reel a scene back in when it starts getting out of control. Gellar and Williams also have great chemistry.

But it’s an ensemble show, and the rest of the cast is amazing, too. From nebbish Andrew (Hamish Linklater) to vain eye candy Zach (James Wolk) who are friends also vying for Simon’s approval to Lauren (Amanda Setton), the kind of scary assistant, there’s literally nobody I don’t like, and in general I laugh out loud at least twice an episode (or sometimes once, but for a long time). And the rest of the time, I’m watching with a smile. It’s just such midweek treat, and when you add the bloopers that run over the credits, it becomes a real gem.

Sadly, over at TVbytheNumbers, The Cancellation Bear is calling “The Crazy Ones” more likely to be canceled than not by 2015. I hope the bear’s wrong, because that would be a shame. The Crazy Ones airs a Thursdays at 8:30 (central) on CBS.

Leisure Time is on Twitter! Get post updates and small fannish thoughts @theLTtweet.

One thought on “What a ‘Crazy’ turnaround

  1. […] Trophy Wife is my second-favorite new show of the season At first, I just liked having more Bradley Whitford on my TV, but honestly, this show about a thrice-married guy, his new younger wife, three kids and zany relationships with the exes just tickles my feel-good family funny-bone, even if it did take a massive build-up and binge-watch to realize. Sadly, The Cancelation Bear is also predicting its demise. I will not be a happy camper if this season eats Trophy Wife and The Crazy Ones. […]

Leave a Reply

