The Next Long Haul

I had a lot of fun doing the Journeyman Long Haul project. It took me a while to settle into a style where I was neither recapping the episode scene-by-scene nor just blathering my opinions all over the place with very little context, but I think I figured it out about midseason. And I’m still not sure if it helped or hurt that Journeyman is one of my favorite shows, and I’ve seen it a lot.

Perhaps I’ll get a better idea of that next week, when I start watching the Sci-Fi (excuse me, SyFy) series Eureka. I’ve only seen the pilot when it aired in 2006, and I only actively remember about 5 minutes of it. The only other thing I know is that at one point a character dies (I know the name but not the role the character plays in the universe) and it upset a lot of people. But I’m also not sure how permanent deaths are on this show. So. Should be interesting.

While the Journeyman project was a Monday/Wednesday/Friday deal, I’m going to knock Eureka back to Tuesday/Thursday. The MWF schedule, combined with a 40-hour workweek kind of made me feel like Long Haul posts were all I was doing with my time. And there are other things I’d like to do (and write about). But be sure to check back Tuesday for the first Eureka Long Haul post. If you haven’t seen it either, or would like to watch it again, it looks like the first three seasons and part of the fifth are on Hulu, and Netflix has seasons one through four.

If you have seen Eureka, please don’t spoil me. Seriously.

Lastly, if you’re new to Leisure Time or missed a post along the way, I’ve updated the Long Haul Index (and they’ve mostly all been Long Haul posts) at the top of the screen, which  links to all of those, or if you’d like previews of each one, you can click the Long Haul category to the right and scroll through at your leisure.

Leave a Reply

